Sunday, 29 March 2009

Nominations for Bukit Selambau, Bukit Gantang and Batang Ai (update)

Its 15, 3 and 2 candidates on April 7

The three by-elections in Bukit Selambau, Bukit Gantang and Batang Ai, which will be held simultaneously on April 7, will see contests by 15, three and two candidates respectively.

The biggest field of candidates is in Bukit Selambau where 15 aspiring candidates filed papers, including Barisan Nasional’s Datuk S. Ganesan and Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s S. Manikumar. When the objection period ended at 11am, all candidates were accepted without any objections.

In Bukit Gantang, ousted Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is facing Barisan Nasional’s Ismail Safian and an Independent, businessman Kamarul Ramizu Idris. There were three objections but all were rejected.

In Batang Ai, it is a straight fight between BN candidate Malcom Mussem Lamoh and Jawah Gerang of PKR. Two objections were filed but both were rejected.

At all three venues, newly-minted Umno leaders are heading the campaigns in the three by-elections.

Among the BN leaders accompanying their candidates were Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein , who is in charge of Bt Selambau, Wanita Umno chief Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and MIC president Datuk Seri S.Samy Vellu.

The PKR supporters were led by the party's vice-president, Azmin Ali.

Umno deputy president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and vice-president Datuk Zahid Hamidi led the BN charge for the Bukit Gantang parliamentary seat. They were seen walking to the nomination centre with Ismail and Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir.

Nizar's contingent included Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, DAP supremo Lim Kit Siang and Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng.

Earlier report

Most of the candidates contesting in the three by-elections – Bukit Gantang Parliamentary seat (Perak), Batang Ai State seat(Sarawak), and Bt Selambau state seat (Kedah) arrived at the nomination centres, bolstered by thousands of supporters.

Nominations have been closed and objection period has begun and will end at 11am.

* 15 candidates file nominations for Bkt Selambau including S. Ganesan (BN-MIC) and S. Manikumar (Pakatan-PKR)

* Three-cornered fight for Bukit Gantang between Ismail Safian (BN-Umno), Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin (Pakatan-PAS) and independent Kamarul Ramizu.

* Straight fight in Batang Ai between Barisan’s Malcolm Mussen Lamoh and PKR’s Jawah Gerang.

For iive report go to the The Star Online here and Malaysiakini (for subscribers only) here.


Lee said...

15 contestants in Bukit Selambau? Ridiculous!Pakatan Rayaat will win hands down.The so-called independents will all lose their deposits.Wonder whether they are stupid or out to make some easy money!Pakatan Raayat will also win convincingly in Bukit Gantang as popular Perak MB is contesting.No doubt about it.Batang Ai is another story.Its almost 50-50 with the scale tipping towards Pakatan Raayat.
Verdict: 3-0 to Pakatan Raayat unless cheating comes into play.In Malaysia everything is possible. Malaysia Boleh!

pendekar bukit said...

PKR Kedah goyang kerana Anwar tikam belakang ketua cawangan Jerai

Anonymous said...

"The others were L. Sarala, T. Chandrarajan, R. Loganathan, Tan Hock Huat, Zaharan Abdullah, Major (R) Mohd Fadzli Wahab, Anuar Abdul Hamid, A. Jayagopal, Husaini Yaacob, Abdul Rahim Abu , S. Moganakumar, Venason Michael and Kamis Awang.

why are these people rushing to run in the by-election?

Dont tell me it is to serve the people? Who are they kidding?

Dont they know they're gonna split the votes? What good will that be. Or are they in because of monetary reasons - that they will in the end back out to the highest bidder.

And what is that Chinese guy - Tan Hock Huat - doing in an Indian majority area?