Thursday, 26 March 2009

Polls: unofficial results: Muhyiddin wins (update 2)

Unofficial results: Muhyiddin wins

For the three vice-president posts, the winners are Zahid Hamidi (1,592), Hishammuddin Hussien (1,515) and Shafie Apdal (1,445).

All are seen as new Umno president Najib Abdul Razak's men.

9.10pm: The latest word is that two certain winners for the vice-president post are Zahid Hamidi and Shafie Apdal. The race for the third and final slot is a battle between Khaled Nordin and Hishammuddin Hussein.

The race for the deputy president's race between Muhyiddin and Muhammad Taib is still too close to call.

However both their supporters are claiming that their man is in the lead.

And for the supreme council seat, Azalina Othman Said is said to be very happy after hearing that she had retained her seat.

A total of 51 candidates are contesting for 25 places.

Breaking news : 8.05pm: According to party sources, as well as with the feedback from the delegates, Muhyiddin Yassin, Ahmad Zahid, Shafie Afdal and Khaled Nordin are all heading for wins. - Malaysiakini

With the counting for the party polls going out for about 90 minutes now, words have it that Muhyiddin is leading the race to the deputy president.

The other candidate for the race is Muhammad Muhd Taib.

As for the vice-president's post, delegates are also saying that most of them have voted for Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Mohd Shafie Apdal and Khaled Nordin.

The early favourite for this race, Hishammuddin Hussein, is said to be lagging behind.

The other candidates for the veep race are Rais Yatim, Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, Syed Hamid Syed Jaafar Albar and Abdul Rahim Tamby Chik.

Official results are only expected at about 10.45pm.

No comments: